Letter from the Past to the Present

To

My Ex-Boyfriend

Address Unknown

Dated – 2 Years after we broke up

Hey honey,

I hope I can still call you honey. I don’t know now if I have the right or if it’ll create complications in your new life. But trust me this is the only way I can actually address you.  I am not writing this letter to curse you or to wish you ill-luck. Had those been the reason I would have gone like so many others to the numerous ‘Miracle-Men” who are found in abundance in this god-forsaken country. But no, I m not here for all that.  I m not even here to extend an olive-branch or as your current partner might believe, to seduce you or to lure you over to my side. I m writing this to you because of one simple reason. I miss you. More than missing you as my boyfriend, I miss my best friend

All it took from you was the one single sentence, “it’s over” and it seemed that my whole world came crumbling apart. I won’t deny that we both had seen it coming in the long run but you know how much of an optimist I really am and somewhere down the line, I chose to believe that even though this fragment of the relationship was over, the friendship will remain. When we broke up, it seemed that I had hit rock-bottom emotionally, but when we ceased to be friends, that’s when I knew there was something beyond the so-called rock bottom. But that was not the worst part. The worst part was that you were not there to fish me out of that abyss. In the past whenever I fell, you were there to pick me up. I was so totally dependent on you that I realized at that point of time, that had my friends not been so understanding, I would have probably become suicidal. My gals picked me up or rather what parts were left of me and gradually tried re-introducing me to life. But as hard as they tried nothing could fill the void, the void that was left by you. Gradually I started dating again. But those are just dates. I wasn’t friends with them before, so the void still remains I guess and it will remain there I guess, for somewhere deep down, I lack the courage to date a friend again.

These past few years have been hard, but I knew what I had bargained for. I bear no grudges. I just bear the ramblings. Was it really that easy for you to just forget what we had? Or do you too have a large void in your life? Does a random stranger on the street make your heart skip a beat too? Does a certain song bring back a fond memory? Did moving away from where I was geographically make the transit easy for you? Above all, do you miss your best friend too? The reason I mustered up the courage to write this to you today is because today I know I can survive. Yes I have rejoined social networks and yes I have stopped asking people about you. But as I sign off I just want you to know that I miss you even today and I care for my best friend even today. So I implore you to grant me one last request. Let’s be friends again, if not best friends.

With best regards and warm memories,

Your Girl friend of the past

Leave a comment