Being Single

Statutory Warning; This post is not meant for all those people who believe that one’s single because one had no other options.

This post is definitely not about the rantings of a singleton. Personally I don’t mind being single even if it means that I have reached an age where my Facebook Timeline has been clogged with wedding pictures or pictures of first-borns. Neither is this an invitation to the many nosy Aunts to scour out reasons as to why I m single. I had realised long back that the only reason that one was single was possibly because they are very comfortable with it. What irritates me the most, is when people try finding out the exact reason why you are single because ‘single by choice ‘ is a concept that eludes many.

This is why I decided to dig a little and make a list of all the reasons that have ever been sited to me or my friends as the etiology of our

‘singleness”

1.You are too Independent

– Yes living in a country which has crossed more than 60 years of independence, one still expects me to be dependent. Hypocrisy at it’s best. And, since when has independence been a negative thing? I mean were I a guy, I would have been very happy to find a girl who could take care of herself

2. You are over-educated.

-and here I thought that over-educated was not even a word. But apparently it is and one that is used in abundance. In the Indian scenario the concept is still that the guy should hold a degree more than the girl and that is the only reason a relation flourishes.Translated loosely it can mean I want my paycheck to be bigger than yours

3. You are too intimidating

-translation for this is roughly that you know what to do with your life and how you want it to be done. You are not going to let me treat you as a doormat

4.You have too many guy friends

-this can translate in many ways ranging from I-don’t-wanna-risk-being-bashed-up-by-your-guy-friends-should-we-break-up-in-future to I-am-not-sure-about-your-sexual-orientation (or mine for that matter)

5. You don’t behave like a girl

-translating as I want a girl who doesn’t challenge my authority and who will always be available to accompany me wherever I want to go. I can safely take her to parties and stuff because she won’t drink or talk freely to people and most importantly she ll always seek my approval before doing anything

6. You are too honest

translating as- I don’t want you to tell me about the various previous relationships you have been in because then I would have to tell you about mine.

7. You are not traditional/too traditional

-translates to I-don’t-know-myself-what-I-want. I’ll settle for what my family wants for me.

And finally this one’s a winner actually.

8. You are not marriage material

-as if this is a vital ingredient to life. Like ‘we can’t make pie because there’s no flour or something’

Moral of the story- there will always be people who try and make you feel guilty of your choices and your decisions. What’s important is you be happy.

Leave a comment